Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Rarely anyone could escape the business of the modern world. Parents are often bogged down by their occupational responsibility that leaves them little time for their children. This fact makes the limited, valuable time parents have with their offspring very important, and one should seriously consider how is this time best spent? Some may prefer to use this time to have fun with each other; others are more academically oriented and may choose to work on schoolwork together. In my personal opinion, I believe that this invaluable time is best spent on having fun.

Let us first look at the issue at hand from the perspective of the children. Would a eight-year-old or a twelve-year-old wish their parents to work on schoolwork with them after school or they wish to have the parents play with them? Obviously, most children would opt to play. We can see everywhere where parents are dragged by their children to play with them all the time. And when parents do satisfy the children's innate desire for entertainment, a strong subconscious bond between the parents and the children will form. This greatly benefits the stability and warmth of a family.

Aside from the fact that children desire to have fun, playing games and sports with children after school also balances academic and entertaining life for the children. Children would have already have spent most of their time in school on academia. If parents continue to force schoolwork related activities on the little ones, other aspects of the children's potential, such as agility, may become underdeveloped. Therefore, it is beneficial for families to engage in non-academic activities after children get out of school.

Nevertheless, some families may prioritize schoolwork before other activities. Parents of these families believe that helping their sons and daughters academic-wise can bring them a better future. While this may be true, over-emphasizing schoolwork may throttle the children's creativity. For example, Asian parents tend to focus more on academics than their Western counterparts. The effect is quite interesting: Asian youths dominates the international academic realm while Western adults thrive in the grownup academia. This resulted from the fact that Asian children were fed too much schoolwork, causing them to be unable to think for themselves, thus losing their creativity in the long run.

In conclusion, the benefits of parents investing time on entertainment with their children surpass that of spending the valuable time on more schoolwork. Unless the children have a innate inclination for academia and would not enjoy playing games or sports, parents should spend time playing with them, not work on more schoolwork with them.