Some people choose friends who are different from themselves. Others choose friends who are similar to themselves. Compare the advantages of having friends who are different from you with the advantages of having friends who are similar to you. Which kind of friend do you prefer for yourself? Why?

Nowadays selecting friends is becoming more and more essential than it used to be decades ago. Some individuals prefer friends with the same interests, while others opt people who differ from them. This essay will examine both points of view as well as underline its advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand, having friends who have the same interests is able to make the life of a person easy. To be precise, one's have opportunity to share their horizons with the people who approve them. That is why, a person does not feel alone with such individuals. What is more, sometimes people have a specific interests which does not suit for some companies of friends since these hobbies require to have a special tastes or education. For example, if one's like going to a theater, a ballet, an opera, it is difficult for them to share their hobbies or have an excellent conversation at the company of people who are fond of football or basketball. Thus, friends who are similar to a person can help realize himself or herself as well as have a specific tastes.

On the other hand, if individuals have friends with different interests, the life becomes more interesting and amazing than it can be. What I mean is that boredom and routine do not exist in such companies because a person always learn something new from friends. In order to prove this point of view, I would like to remember my friends Alex. He has many interests, but none of them cross mine since I am a programmer and Alex is a musician. However, we like listening to each other, changing our opinions and overcomes problems. As a result, I loved the classical music and Alex started to study programming. In other words, different interests are able to make people's life curious and encourage friends to find new hobbies.

Having weighed up all pros and cons, I have arrived to the conclusion that I opt to have friends who are not like me, however, this choice depends on people's character and horizons.