Some people prefer to live in a small town. Others prefer to live in a big city. Which place would you prefer to live in? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Large cities often suffer from congestion and pollution, and the cost of living may be high. However, according to me, I enjoy living in a big city for two main reasons. First, it has a unique atmosphere. Second, I appreciate the anonymity of living in a big city. For these reasons, I prefer to live in a big city rather than a small town.

In the first place, I enjoy the urban lifestyle that I lead, although it sometimes might be difficult to deal with the pressure of modern lifestyle. Big cities are very vibrant, especially at nights. They have efficient infrastructures and plenty of amenities ranging from magnificent restaurants and shops to enormous entertainment complexes, where you can relieve your strength and energy after the hard work. Besides, there are many cultural events held in big cities; chief among them are varied concerts and exhibitions. With a lot of available outside activities that people can do, it is almost impossible to get bored. While, in small cities, there is not many things to do, and this is why their citizens migrate to metropolises. For example, last Friday, after a long day of working, we went to the cinema, and then ate at a Japanese restaurant. After having dinner, we had a stroll through the markets and around the streets. It was midnight, but everything was very lively. We really enjoyed our leisure time.

Another important point is that big cities’ anonymity fascinates many people. They like to feel that they can do something without everybody knowing about it. Big cities have large populations, as they have assembled people from all parts of the world, so people hardly know each other including even their neighbors. In addition, the pressure of city life and its particular concerns oblige its residents to focus only on their own lives. Not only they do not have time to squander on exploring others’ lives, but also they do not care about others’ personal affairs. In contrast, in small cities, everybody knows you, and tries to find out about your business. For instance, in our city, I can dress in a way I want, since nobody knows me and cares about my appearance, but, when I lived in a small town, I had to dress very carefully so as not to disturb our neighbors or others who interfere in private problems.

To sum it up, I would rather to live in a big city. This is because city life is more interesting and exciting, and I praise the anonymity of it. In brief, living in a big city has many advantages that outweigh its disadvantages.