Some people say that the Internet provides with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to so much information creates problems. Which do you agree with?

The Internet has changed modern society. A few decades ago, people used to go to the library, or buy expensive encyclopedias to have access to information. Nowadays, however, the information is widespread because of the Internet. While some deem it as a valuable platform, others think the Internet has caused several problems. From my point of view, the Internet has helped to access relevant information that otherwise would be impossible to find.

First of all, many students use the Internet as their primary information resource. Although books and magazines have organized and detailed information about any topic, they are not easy to get. They are expensive, especially in my country, Chile, where only rich people can afford to buy a decent amount of them. The rest of the population has to ask for books in libraries, ask someone to lend them, or photocopy them. The Internet, on the other hand, is much more accessible. A vast quantity of population prefers to use the World Wide Web to access the information they need due to the low price of the Internet accounts, and its quickness. For instance, when I was majoring in geology in the university, I often had to look for information about rocks and minerals. I used to go to the library and ask for some books. However, on the Internet, I easily and quickly found the information I was looking for. This happened to me several times.

Second, the information on the web itself is not the main issue; it depends on how people use it. Many people use the Internet for socializing more than for looking for information. My mom, for instance, only uses Facebook and her email to keep in touch with her friends and classmates from a Bible course. She barely surfs on the Internet, and when she does, it is to find some locations or to know more about her Catholic faith. So, that does not create any problems for her. In the same way, passive information does not make any problem for the majority of the world.

To sum up, the Internet is more a benefit since it is accessible and its information is not detrimental as it depends on how the user manages it.