Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the Internet is the easiest and most common tool for gaining information which can be provided just by searching a key-word in different search engines. Some people believe that this vast amount of information can be very useful and valuable for individuals; others assume otherwise, believing having access to much information can produce different problems. Personally speaking, I think this gigantic amount of information can cause a lot of problems because of two reasons.

First, the excessive amount of information can cause confusion in people. People usually use search engines to get their information by searching their issues in them. After searching a key-word, search engines propose millions of websites about the subject. When people read this data, they find it incomplete or contradictory. Processing, judging and matching these data is a tedious and difficult task to do. As a result, the mind lose its concentration and become exhausted, and people become puzzled. For example, a while ago, I had a question about the basic books of philosophy. So, I searched my problem in Google to find the answer, and it suggested a million pages. Despite of that, I read tens of pages which had different opinions about the question. Some pages mentioned ancient philosophers’ books as basic reference; others contemporary ones, and some pages just raveled about philosophy. After great struggling, I finally gave up and referred to my friend who is studying Politic. He mentioned some philosophers and solved my problem. In sum, vast information can baffled people easily.

Second, a lot of information can create false beliefs in people. Vast range of information on the internet make it impossible to control and observe its correctness by specialists. Since the writers of some websites are not expert on what they are writing, they can intentionally or unintentionally spread false information. And other writers can copy this incorrect information and even spread it more. As a result, when people see same information in different sources, they will be convinced that the information is correct. For instance, I had a disagreement with my sisters about right ratio of weight to height in women. They asserted that height minus one meter give the women’s standard weight. In contrast, I told them that this is not right. Then, we searched the problem on the Internet, and site after site confirmed their claims. As I was confident about my assertation, I called my friend who is a doctor, and he confirmed my opinion and persuaded my siters. So, a lot of information can build incorrect conventions in people.