Some people say that teachers and parents should decide what assignment or activities children should do after school. Other says that children should make these decisions on their own. Which do you agree with and why?

There is no doubt that breeding successful children is highly important because children’s prosperity provides social benefits for all members of the community. In other words, growing children who are wise and responsible can provide massive advantages for the world. To this aim, both schools and families are responsible to teach valuable knowledge and skills to the teenagers. However, a controversial question here is that whether teachers and parents should decide about the type of the activities that students are doing after school or not. Personally, although some people believe that parents have more worthwhile wisdom and should decide for teenagers, it is my firm conviction that they should let juveniles follow their favorite activities after school. To support my idea, there are numerous considerable causes, two of which are going to be aptly discussed in the following.

First and foremost, not only is making feeling of freedom vital for children, but also is the right of all humans with various ages. Actually, if a mother or/and a teacher do not let a child to opt the type of the activity that is interesting to him/her, he/she will feel lack of freedom that is highly dangerous for his/her mental health. From psychological perspective, humans like to have the right of being able to decide about their life by themselves; therefore, choosing the type of activity after school by parents and lectures is neither effective nor fair. For example, when I was a child, I did not understand why I must go to school. Each morning at 7am that my mother used to waking me up, during that time I was feeling gloomy and promising to myself that after school I would watch my favorite TV series, Dr. Docky, in order to persuade myself to endure during the time of school. My classmates had experienced similar story like me, and I had not seen anybody who likes their parents and teacher decide for them. It is also not to be underestimated that parents love their children; therefore, they want to see their teenagers’ success; nevertheless, it is not a good way to enhance the chance of a child’s prosperity because this unfriendly approach may affect their performance even on their school’s tasks.

Another worthy factor that should be considered is that despite the public’s opinion, children are able to decide wisely because nowadays they access to massive information. A common opinion in societies is that because teenagers do not have enough applicable knowledge about difficulties on the future, they can not opt as effective as adults. Nevertheless, from my perspective, That could not be true all the times it is not true all the time. There are numerous children who can comprehend sophisticated problems even more accurate than their parent. Actually, they are children of technology and information, also the internet paves the way for them to reach to different shared stories and real-world experiences on the websites that teach us to find our talent and sharpening our skill sets. Additionally, the after school time is a suitable and precious opportunity for teenagers to follow their dreams and actions which can make them happy, and it is a fact that the more a child be satisfied, the more accomplishment the child will achieve. Briefly, today’s children are not like the past, they are more clever; so, they can handle their free time to find their happiness effectively.

To sum up, although bringing moral and professional children up is the duty of educational systems and families; hence, it is suggested that adults should have a plan for students’ after school time, I believe that this method affects teenagers’ abilities because the strategy destroys the children’s freedom. Moreover, nowadays’ children are significantly intelligent and pay adequate attention to their interests and goals. Also, a human lives to be happy, and enjoys from his/her moments; so, it is the children’s right to be cheerful and free.