Some people think that the family is the most important influence on young adults. Other people think that friends are the most important influence on young adults. Which view do you agree with?

Upon the above question, different people have different opinions based on their emotion, education, culture, etc. From my point of view, both family members and friends are important influences on young adults. But I think friends play a more significant role and in the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First and foremost, young adults spend most of their time studying in schools. They go to school from early in the morning to late in the afternoon. So that they usually get in touch with their classmates for long hours. Besides, most young adults prefer to study in groups or do research projects and assignments with their friends. They can talk to each other, exchange information and share ideas easily and in a more convenient way. In contrast, many young adults cannot share their secrets easily with their parents because there is a gap between two generations.

In the second place, some young adults have part-time jobs or participate in sport activities. In these conditions, their teammates or colleagues are important influences on them. They have to cooperate with their friends effectively in order to achieve their goals. Sometimes, they need money and they prefer to borrow it from their friends instead of asking parents for money.

Finally, it is important to bear in mind that parents and siblings are countless influences on children. In my opinion, parents are our first teachers. They teach us basic skills like talking, walking, eating and so forth. Mothers teach daughters how to prepare foods or wash dishes and fathers teach sons how to drive properly and behave toward others respectfully.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account, it can be concluded that although parents are some influences on young adults, friends play a more important role based on the reasons which I outlined above.