Some people think that the main purpose of schools is to teach children to become good citizens and workers, rather than benefiting them as individuals. Agree/ Disagree?

The mission of education of children is far from easy. Some people believe that at school, the inculcation of ethical lessons in children to become useful citizens is imperative, while others subscribe to the view that each individual should bring personal interests to the fore when studying at school. I partly/partially agree with the latter view for the following/ensuing reasons.

First, it is abundantly clear that the priority of education of the youngsters towards their needs is psychologically conducive to their learning. In effect, with no restriction, which entails them to follow moral codes of the society, they feel relaxed/at ease and study more effectively. Nevertheless/Nonetheless, Can a class achieve its high efficaciousness when each individual, because of putting his/her needs above others, for instance, goes to class late or forgets to do homework? The crux of the matter is that only in a disciplined environment which underscores their obedience to/compliance with the community code can they learn how to get along with others and become confident in their work environment in the future.

The second reason in support of/ in favor of individualism in education at school is to encourage/spur children to explore their inner desire. It is crystal clear that they discover what they truly desire in this life and may come up with revolutionary inventions to make a difference in the world, like the case of Thomas Edison. However, under no circumstances can such inventions gain/win wide support/recognition if they are only to serve the individual need of the creators and some minorities. The fact of the matter is that their success roots from/hails from/springs from/stems from the community purpose that is to enhance the quality of life for all. Another cogent argument is that if individualism were to be worshipped, for the sake of profit, youngsters could become businessmen stripped of ethics/moral compass leading to the prevalence of low-quality products and substandard services. On top of it all, when it comes to the solution to the global issues, say, environment, epidemics and political conflicts, can the individuals who only benefit themselves play a part?

All things considered, at the heart of education of any kind is the harmony/reconciliation between individual and community that needs to produce citizens who can follow the moral code to become useful citizens, and concurrently, pursue their own interest to add more color to the world.