Some people think that making new friends bring more happiness, while others believe that maintaining old friends can make us happier. which one do you agree?

Friendship is of great importance because of its effect on the people's happiness. Some people may think that saving old friend for a long time can bring us more happiness, however, I personally do believe that making a new friend is more influential. Two main reasons are elaborated in the following paragraphs to prove this point of view.

First of all, new friends increase the likelihood of being highly motivated due to its diversity. In fact, as we become familiar with a new person, we try to explore in his both character and point of views toward life. Therefore, we may find numerous interesting things by which we can have more fun in our personal life led to more feeling of happiness. My life illustrates this point clearly. I have lived in New York for more than 10 years and made a few number of friends usually related to my university and job. In the last year of living there, I have met a girl in a nightclub who was totally far from my old friends in thought and way of living. Spending some time with her, I realized that how interesting life can be if I change my previous lifestyle. In this regard, that new person boosts my motivation by providing some simple but completely diverse points of living.

Secondly, only by having new friends can we easily gain new experience that may result in finding compelling strategies to deal with our current issues. In other words, our old friends convey considerable ideas and experiences during the early years, therefore, they have nothing unique to present in the following years. However, a new person has a different way of life that may enlarge our vision in which we will finally feel more delighted. My brother has a real experience in this field. He failed in all the businesses that he had started during his life. Due to his fixed friends, he was a close-mind man, consequently, he tried similar things in his new businesses but the final results were almost identical, which was a failure. Once he met a person in his apartment, and they became intimate friends after spending just a few weeks. Because of the new experiences that his new friend had, they started a new business, it was a huge success for both of them. Now, my brother feels absolutely delighted because he becomes finally successful in a business and that is commonly referred to his new friend.

In sum, above from aforementioned explanations, I do believe that new friends can make us happier in compare to maintaining the old ones. In this way, we should try to broaden our mind by finding new friends.