Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A great deal of attention has been attracted to the preference of people dealing with making new or saving old friends. There are a number of people who think that old friends must be saved forever, however, some others believe that making new friends are more exciting and rational. In my own perspective, I do believe that the first concept is more reasonable because of two main reasons which are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

First of all, old friends are not only a part of our lives but also our previous memories, they seem to be an alive memory, therefore, nobody wants to lose one part of his mind and previous life. In other words, some people make friends just in order to take advantage of them. In this regard, saving the old friend is meaningless. But, if we are in relationships with others for the sake of the good feeling of being together, leaving them and trying to make new ones has no reason at all. My own experience is an interesting example of this point. When I was studying at the University of New York, I had a roommate named Alex. He was the first boy whom I have met in the dormitory, as a result, we found numerous similarities to be best friends. We were always with each other and other students called us twins. The perfect part of our friendship is that we are still in contact and get really long with each other even though our university classes had finished. As a matter of fact, I do not want Alex just for its academic help, he is a part of my life or even my character and it is not possible for me to neglect these amount of memories.

Secondly, hidden features of people start to appear step by step. In fact, few people reveal all their goodness at the beginning of a relation. All human being are a little skeptical about the purpose of relationships, consequently, they try hard not to be recognized by others in order to prevent taking advantage of them. An experimental investigation was carried out in my own country to show whether people try to keep old friends or not. The results were surprisingly unbelievable, more than 85 percent of individuals, who take part in this survey, desire to protect their friends and avoid separation. The predominant reason for them was almost the same. They believe that by spending more time new features of friends, which were deliberately hidden, will be observed. After some years people be aware of the purpose of others and also know how to behave with each other. This shows the value of an old friend.

In sum, above from aforementioned explanation, I do prefer that saving old friends seems more logical in comparison with making new ones. This is just because of the effect of time which result in better understanding and also being a part of our personal lives. That's why we should protect our old relations.