Some people think that they can learn better by themselves than with a teacher. Others think that it is always better to have a teacher. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons to develop your essay.

Teaching is hard work and some teachers never grow to be anything better than mediocre. The great teachers, however, work tirelessly to create a challenging, nurturing environment for their students. While learning with a mediocre teacher is not ideal, when students learn with a teacher, the results are superior to when someone learns alone. For, a teacher teaches respect, creates a sense of community and belonging, and brings enthusiasm to learning, particularly the great ones.

First of all, a teacher respects students and inspires the same respect in the students. In a great teacher's classroom, each student's ideas and opinions are valued and respected. Students feel safe to express their feelings, and they also learn to respect and listen to others. In this way, a teacher creates a welcoming learning environment with mutual respect for all students. This is a quality that cannot necessarily be learned the same way when people learn by themselves.

Secondly, a teacher creates a sense of community and belonging in the classroom. The mutual respect in a teacher's classroom provides a supportive, collaborative environment. In this small community, there are rules to follow and jobs to be done and each student is aware that he or she is an important, integral part of the group. A great teacher lets students know that they can depend not only on her but also on the entire class. Such a lesson can be applied by the students beyond the classroom.

Finally, a teacher is warm, accessible, caring, and enthusiastic. A good teacher is approachable, not only to students but to everyone on campus. This is a person to whom students know they can go with any problems or concerns or even to share a funny story. Teachers possess good listening skills and take time out of their busy schedules for students. A teacher’s enthusiasm to teach and to learn is felt by the students and, in turn, encourages them to seek more knowledge. The right teacher can make learning fun and more enjoyable than learning alone.

In conclusion, while not all teachers are great, it is still better to learn with a teacher than to learn by oneself. For, a teacher is usually always enthusiastic about teaching and learning. As well, the classroom environment creates a sense of community and belonging for students which is further fostered by a strong teacher. By learning with a teacher, people learn respect, how to respect others, and how to gain others’ respect. Overall, the advantages of studying with a teacher - even a mediocre teacher - outweigh those of learning alone.