Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better?

The trend of living together with the parents or away of the parents is easily seen in the eastern world and western world respectively. In the eastern world child trend to live along with their families while in the western world, young people live independently from their parents as soon as possible. Although I belong to the eastern part, I firmly believe that it is good to have an independent life and live away from the parents as soon as possible. I would like to justify my opinion with the help of following reasons explained in the paragraphs below.

Firstly, living away from the parents will allow you to make the decision on your own. Living with the parents means you need always seeks help and suggestion from them in the small issue also. Taking independent decision will help you to face the harsh condition in the future. The practice of taking decision will be helpful when there will be no one else to help you. For example, I used to live with my parents and use to consult with them for even a small issue and they were ready to help me anytime. But then when I started living alone in the earlier days I was confused and I used to fear taking any decision. Later on as the days passed away, I become very habituated to take the decision on my own no matter how difficult was the situation.

Second, living alone will help you to understand of your abilities. When we are together with the parents we won't be able to know our self. The strength and weakness of the individual will always be overshadowed by the presence of the parents. To be more specific, when I used to live with my parents, my parents used to handle every activities of the kitchen, I rarely used to do any kitchen related activity. But when I started alone, I found myself to be a good cook. However, I found myself very poor at maintaining the decoration of the house. I wouldn't have know my strengthens and weakness if I had continued to live with my parents.

Thirdly, living alone helps you to be economical. When you live with your parents, parents are the one who pay the larger bills and you rearly need to think about the expenditure. But then managing the limited resource of money will be very important in the future, most probably when you get married or have a child. For instance, had I continued to live with my parents I wouldn't have known the meaning of saving the money. But when I started living independently, I had to spend a lot of time in planning where the money should be spend or how much to save.

Although, it might be very difficult emotionally to remain away from the parents for few months initially but living independent teaches us the lesson. It helps us to show the darker part of our life, teaches us with how to cope with the difficult situation. Thus, I firmly believe that living independent will be a better option than living along with the parents.