Students at universities often have a choice of places to live. They may choose to live in university dormitories, or they may choose to live in apartments in the community.

Most students place great emphasis on accommodation of living. Some students prefer living on-campus, while others choose to find an apartment off-campus. As far as I am concerned, I strongly believe that living in an apartment is better for students because it is more independent and private. This essay will provide further aspects and examples to support this idea in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, living in an apartment provides students more flexible living. Because off-campus housing is not under universities’ rules, students will independently manage their routine while others who live in a dormitory cannot. Moreover, students who break the rules will be deducted their point or have to increasingly do homework. To illustrate this, my alma mater housing has many strict rules for residents, such as dressing and entry time. Residents cannot come back after midnight and untidily dress. Their time liberties are deprived, and these rules restrict a number of their activities while others who live outside the campus are free for managing their time.

Secondly, another fact that supports my standpoint is that apartments have more privacy than dormitories. Because individuals in an apartment live separately, they are dispensable to feel anxious about others’ privacy. Furthermore, students will be able to focus on their schoolwork without distractions if they live in off-campus residences. Therefore, their grades could be better. For instance, when I studied at Chulalongkorn University, I lived in a dormitory for the first two years. During that time, I had to be aware of my noises when I was reading books at night and avoided many disruptions from other roommates and neighbors. For this reason, if I had lived independently in an apartment, I would have had further privacy for learning.

In conclusion, I firmly maintain the belief that living in an off-campus apartment is better. This is due to the fact that students will have more flexibility without a lot of university rules and more privacy for learning.