Students in a university club want to help others, but they can only choose one project a year, which one of the following is the best?

1)help those students in a nearby primary school with reading and mathematics

2)help people who cannot afford to build or rent a home to build a house

3)visit and assist elderly people with daily tasks.

With the development of our society, people are easily connected and there are more ways for students to make full use of their abilities and time to support someone else. As for the given choices, I believe helping those students in a nearby primary school with reading and mathematics can benefit both pupils and university students the most.

To start with, it is the students’ strength that should be fully operated while helping others. Comparing with other walks of life, college students have a wide range of knowledge and a more clear understanding of reading and mathematics. On the basis that they have studied and trained intensively in a subject for a long time, they have absorbed enough techniques and knowledge to impart kids and they may be probably professional while instructing pupils. Also, they are familiar with kids since it is not quite long before when they were in primary school. Therefore, they are likely to have more common sense with pupils, who may be more eager to follow their instructions.

However, concerning helping people who cannot afford to build or rent a home to build a house, it is too complicated for college students to perfectly or even basically complete that. University students, who are required to get better academic performance since a young age, are never trained for or even familiar with building a house. And if they are forced to learn that in merely a year, it can be so stressful for them. University students are already choked with heavy academic burdens and undergo many other pressures, for instance, family members’ overzealousness on personal issues and the maintenance of romantic relationships. If they have to learn architecture knowledge in such a short time, it can be pretty hard for them and they will not be qualified to handle this as well. It is better to hire someone more professional or experienced to do this.

As for visiting and assisting elderly people with daily tasks, it can be too time-consuming. Students have already been subject to lots of tough courses, homework, and exams. Especially for those who want to pursue better academic performance, they have to participate in training school every day and thus, their schedule is relatively tight. If they are required to attend the elderly every day, it will cost them additional time, which may not be able for them to find a vacant slot in their fully arranged schedule. Nevertheless, to tutor kids, it can be a weekly basis, which is convenient for both kids and university students.

In sum, I prefer assisting kids with reading and mathematic since students can handle this task with great confidence, experience, and ease and university students can also benefit a lot from this experience because they can gain perseverance, cooperation and maybe a childlike view towards this fancy world.