Students in a university club want to help others, but they can only choose one project a year, which one of the following is the best? 1. Help those students in a nearby primary school with reading and mathematics; 2. Help people who cannot afford to build or rent a home to build a house;

3. Visit and assist elderly people with daily tasks.

As a human being, we all like to help other people. Actually, by helping others, not only we aid them about their affairs, but also we feel better ourselves. To answer the proposed question, I try to explain the advantages and drawbacks of each one, and then I conclude my opinion.

The first option is to help students who study in a school in their neighborhood about reading and mathematics. There are many benefits to this plan. First, teaching other students help the university students learn how to teach. Second, they will learn how to interact with school students. Especially, those who want to be a teacher in the future, it would be valuable practice for them. I cannot propose any disadvantages for this plan.

The second option is to help poor people to build or rent a home. It is very helpful for homeless people, but building an apartment cost a fortune. Renting an apartment is another choice, but after a year the poor family should rent the apartment or another place for their residence. Therefore, renting a residual place is not a permanent solution for homeless people.

The third option is to visit and assist elderly people with daily affairs. Elderly people, especially those who don’t live with their children or relatives, need other people to do their personal affairs such as buying groceries. If they live alone, they even get more surprised when others come over and ask their feelings. It also doesn’t cost anything but time for the university students.

To sum it up, the first plan has more privileges than others’, because helping other student is more related to their work (study in the university). They will learn how to teach younger students, and also review mathematics which is a basic course for other courses such as physics. On the other hand, building home for other people needs a lot of money and renting an apartment is not a permanent solution for homeless people. Help elderlies is a good idea, but it is not related to the university students’ work that is studying in a specific field.