Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As human beings, we do like to get informed about what happened around us. There are various motivations that make events attractive for us, such as improving our knowledge and learning from other’s experiences. Now, the question is whether the events happening around the world is important even if it is unlikely that they will affect our daily life. I definitely agree with the statement and elaborate on my idea through the following reasons.

First, all events, especially those that have wider effects, have a lesson for everyone. When we see an event, we can learn a lot about the situation and the event consequences. For example, several years ago, an earthquake happened in the city of Bam and unfortunately, we lost more than forty thousand people in that incident. Although, after the event, all Iranians and even people from other countries tried to do their best to reduce its impacts on injured people, its subsequences could be much less if the government would pay more control on the constructions. In addition to the government, the event had lessons for each individual. For example, when I saw that how dangerous could be an earthquake, I convinced my family to move to a safer part of our city and buy a stronger apartment. Therefore, while the Bam’s earthquake didn’t have a direct effect in my life, but I learned how to be prepared before confront with such a scary incident.

Second, besides the event itself, we can learn a lot about the way that people respond to the event. Obviously, we don’t have enough time to experience every situation and try different types of response. As a result, we need to learn from others experience. One of my relatives had an ordinary life. He lived in his own apartment with his family. One day he decided to invest all of his money on gold. His family was against his decision, but he sold their house and bought a lot of gold. After that, the gold price that had a growth every day, changed its pattern and took a descending route. It goes without saying that the man lost a significant part of his wealth in that event. In this example, the man made a wrong decision to the event of gold price increment.

In conclusion, events have a lot for us even if they seem don’t have a direct relevance to our life. We can learn many things from events that may not find them in books or universities. Along with the events, the people reactions to the events are also valuable for us. If we don’t learn from other’s experience, others may learn from our experience.