Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today, we are encountered with various hobbies and entertainments that technology advances have brought us. We are so soaked in computers, internet, mobile phones, social networks and other stuff that sometimes forget to do our daily chores. Although these inventions cause promotions in our life, I believe that a lot of people aren’t conscious of the side effects of these bad habits. Besides technology advances, there are other reasons that have caused people to spend too much time on personal enjoyment rather than doing things they are expected to do. In what follows, I will elaborate on my point of view.

As I mentioned above, one the reasons for people doing things that they like more, is the technological achievements. New inventions in electronic devices such as computers, laptops and mobile phones along with emerging of communication technologies such as internet and wireless have produced a good opportunity for people to spend their time on browsing, chatting, and doing other kinds of their favorite activities. Through the internet and cable TVs, watching favorite movies are more convenient than every other time. They can easily search what they are looking for, and sit relax in their home and watch the movie on their TVs or laptops. Therefore, one of the main reasons supporting my viewpoint is easy access to modern technological inventions.

The second reason that makes people spend more time on their favorites, as the first reason, is derived from technology. Nowadays, people don’t need to spend as much time as they needed to spend in the past. For example, one hundred years ago, there wasn’t washing machines or dishwashers. As a result, people had to do dishes or wash their clothes by hand. Doing these chores caused they didn’t have enough time to spend on their personal enjoyments. But, in the current era, machines and computers do a lot of work instead of mankind. Thus, humans have more time to spend for themselves.

There are also other reasons, such as social changes and economic thrives, but there isn’t enough time to illustrate them.

Considering proposed reasons, it is not a surprising statement that people spend more time on their favorites than every other time. In fact, changes in our community and the environment that we live in, have brought more time for us to do our favorite stuff.