Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universities are exist for more than three hundred years. During this period of time, they have been changed dramatically. In the beginning, they just focused on education but they gradually changed and other activities such as sports and social activities emerged. The question is if these new activities are as important as classic educational activities? In my opinion these activities are as important as classic education activities. In the following paragraphs I try to describe my opinion about this question.

Sports play an important role in our life. Doing exercise help us to reduce stress. There are many reasons that cause students get stressed during their educational period. Exams, thesis and missing families are the main reasons that cause students get stress. Exercise can help students manage and control their tensions. When I was a student in Kerman that is a far city from Tehran I used to think about my family all the day. My family was in Tehran and it wasn’t possible for me to visit them every month. Therefore I decided to play ping pong with one of my roommates in the university’s dormitory. Playing ping pong helped both of us to overcome our homesick problem.

Social activities such as exhibitions and learning foreign languages for newcomers are also very helpful for students. By participating in social activities, students can find new friends and improve their knowledge about the society that they are living there. They can learn many things that usually aren’t accessible through university courses. For example a psychology student cannot learn about local food by reading his/her studying books. But by visiting a food exhibition he/she can acquire a lot of information about local foods, how they cooked, raw materials used in that foods and other information.

Therefore I think that sports and social activities are as important as classes and libraries. These activities help students reduce their stress and learn other subjects that they won’t learn by just attending in classical courses.