Students at the university often have a choice of places to live. They may choose to live in university dormitories, or they live in apartments in the community. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of both. Where would you prefer to live? Give reasons for your preference.

Most of the students are worried when they decide to join college because they are leaving their comfort and family. When I received my housing packet and had to decide where to live, I was unsure where I would be happier at dorm or apartment. During my education first two years I lived in dorm and last two years in apartment. I got chance to experience both and I have lot of memories of both places. As per my experience, I enjoyed more living at the apartment compare to dorm.

Dorm provides various plus points but two of the most obvious are social contact and security. Living in a dorm is clearly the best way to start college life because we can make many friends. For example, at the beginning of my college, I made few friends from dorm who were my seniors. I was having really good time with them and they also helped me a lot for my studies. I might not have met them if I was living in the apartment. Another advantage of dorm is security. There is usually security desk and main lock door in addition to our room door lock. Dorm adviser live in dorm and keep site on the suspected people. Further, your roommate gets to know more about you. We get chance to share feeling and knowledge to each other. On other hand it does not give the privacy to the students.

Whereas, apartments give students privacy and freedom. Without dorm adviser to check that you are not having party or playing your music after a certain time of night, you can feel free to have little fun. Students have too much pressure of their education and they should have some fun in their life to get some relaxation. Moreover, students get freedom to choose their living place. Such as, which type of apartment they want to choose, near to campus or far, big in size or small, a cheap or expensive one, with roommates or without. In dorm students do not have these types of options to choose their dorm. In addition, privacy is major benefit students get in the apartment. Students do not get disturbance during their studies in the apartment. For example, I like to read till late night. In dorm I was not able to read late night because I was sharing room with other people. Whereas, in apartment I can study according to my schedules.

Let’s put in a nut shell, there is saying that “coin has two sides” same way living in dorm and apartment both has merits and demerits. Based on my experience, I enjoyed my education time in apartment because it gave freedom and privacy to me.