study in group

Should students work on a group or do extra work to get good scores? This is a controversial question. Some people think that it is better for students to do any extra work on their own because that would save them time. Although I understand their point of view, I wholeheartedly believe that working on a group is advantegous for students for several conspicuous reasons.

One of the reasons why students should work in a group is becasue it tremendously helps students to improve their communication skills. For example, let us say there is a girl who just has started high school. She has a shy personality, she does not like to talk to people around her. Soon after she started; her teacher asgined her into a group. In order for students to earn good scores, they need to do well by participating in the group's activites, and bounce ideas back and forth. Eventaully, the teenager girl started to reduce her shyness, and she become an eloquent speaker. If she does not participated in the group, her teacher will not give her high grads, and she probably continue to have her timited personality. Although people do not believe that group assingments have a tremendous effect in young people, it actually does. Because of this, it is better for students to work in a group.

Another reason for working in a group is that students will have a chance to broaden their horizon. Research has been done on 1500 students in the Seattle School distct about the benefit that students gain when they work in groups. 70% of the participants stated that they were able to meet new frineds from different clutures and backgrounds and learned from them. So the data shows that when people participate in group activites such as doing homework or assignments together, they get know about each others' norms. Although students sometimes are busy and do not have time to chat with group's members, having an opportunity to work together will open new windeos for them and they might make friendship. If students choise to do the homework that is given by teachers alone, they would not be able to extent the social relationships. Thus, it is obvious that working as group is worthwhile idea.

To sum up, teachers should push the students to work in groups. This is beause not only it helps students to learn a new skill such as communication, but also it provides them a good opportunities to extend their social relationships.