Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Over the last few decades, technology developed exceedingly and has become affordable for more and more people. However, this growth had a detrimental effect on the creativity of children. I feel this way for a few reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Children have different thoughts and creative minds. We may be astonished by the abilities of children, especially newborns till the age of 6. It is been proved that babies can feel empathy for others. When they grow up diverse factors affect their creativity and attitudes. The modern technology like the visual and electronic media have an indelible effect in children's mind. All information is available at their fingertips now. This can retard their creativity in a variety of ways. For instance, children who are trying to learn alphabets and numerals, show these effects. Television has a lot of programs to teach small children to count and write numbers and alphabets. Because of the direct influence of the TV, children lose an opportunity to creatively think about how to write letters or numbers. Thus they are accustomed to the same way that others do them. My son is 4 years old and he loves to watch a TV show called 'Sesame Street'. In that, they show alphabets with a variety of cartoon characters and counting numbers till 100 with music. This not only affected my son's creativity but he got more addicted to television.

Secondly, creativity will provide children with patience and perseverance to achieve greater heights. Thomas Alva Edison, who is the inventor of the electric bulb, did thousands of experiments to get the final outcome. In his autobiography, it is clear that he had a creative mind and his parents encouraged him. He always thought differently from others which made him unique among his classmates. When he was preparing for his experiments he failed 1000 times. From each failure, he studied lessons to finally developed his patent discovery that made history. Diligence and hard work are exhibited in a creative mind. But now, every information is readily available and there is less need for thoughts or creativity. As a result, children are less working and they need quick results. Children are restless due to the advent of newer technologies like google, apps, and games. This can adversely affect their creativity.

Finally, if children are directed correctly by their teachers and parents, we can avoid the danger of less creativity. Parents should engage their children to do creative works like puzzles or crosswords and giving timelimit in watching television. Teachers should inculcate creative approaches in their teaching strategy. Thus we can carve a better and creative generation.

In sum, I strongly agree with the statement that technology made our children less creative. By interrupting the regular habits and by engaging them in creative ideas can ameliorate the creativity in children.