TPO-30

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans have been working since time immemorial to sustain their lives. Some people prefer to work three days a week, whereas others work five days a week. Both of the schedules have their own advantages. As far as I'm concerned, working three days a week for long hours is better. I feel this way for three rationales which I can explain from hereunder.

To begin with, a shortened workweek would increase company profits because employees will feel more rested and alert. As a result, there will be fewer errors in work which inturn can cause a hike in the profit. Moreover, companies can hire more employees for the rest of the days in the week which consequently benefited the economy of the country. For instance, in my brother's company, a survey is conducted to know the economic growth of the firm from 2000-2020. An overall spike in profit is noted after 2010 and the prime reason behind this victory was a short-workweek of their workers. On top of that, there is a drastic rise in the number of employees as well. This particular example shows that companies have fewer overworked and error-prone employees due to this schedule.

Next, the free time of employees can improve the quality of their life by spending extra time with their families, pursuing a private interest, and enjoying leisure activities. This can provide much relaxation and easiness in life. When I gave birth to my first kid, my husband selected the three-day job to spend more time with our son. It was much help for me and this created a deep bond between my son and my husband. In addition, when he grew, they will spend time in parks and beaches and we went for long drives. Those times are the best times in our life to cherish. Additionally, my husband studied an online course in his off days and now he got promoted in his job. A 5-day work is a beneficiary schedule for bachelors because they don't have much to do rather than at weekends.

Finally, less workweek can save transportation costs and hence less pollution to the ecosystem. Everyone relies upon their car to commute that can add up with air, noise, and sound pollution.

All in all, by considering all the points into account, I vehemently assure that working for 3 days is better than a long 5-day schedule. It can not only ameliorate the company's profit, but also can enhance the quality of life by the workers and their surroundings as well.