Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

The visual media in this world is the strongest force of addiction. I agree with the statement that advertising through television directed towards young children should not be allowed. I feel this way for a few reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Television was introduced in the late 1950s which was a contemporary discovery for the world. It is a well-known fact that television violence on children is raising and it persuaded in their leisure time. The electronic media is responsible for the attitudes and values of children especially of ages between two to five. This age limit is the momentous time in a person's life as the neurological development is approaching its end by the time of 6 years. The advertisements over the television had a huge impact on this time as there are chances of trusting the adds rather than their parent's advice. I can illustrate an example from my son's life. He is 4 years now and he used to watch TV a lot. Once he watched an advertisement for a toy car and he compelled us to buy it. He argues that his friends also had the same toy car and if we refuse to buy it, he may humiliate us in front of others. After a few days of his rebellious behavior, we are obligated to buy it. This example clearly illustrates how much influence television had on a child's life. Therefore as a parent, we must control our children from the perilous hands of visual media.

Secondly, the current obsession with television has caused several other detrimental effects on the family. The family storytellers had been replaced by televisions. The TV shows, broadcasts, music programs..etc carved our precious time to spent with the family. My mother used to tell us stories of fiction and events that took place earlier and we were eagerly awaited for her stories. This made our bond deep and we laughed and sleep together in the same bed. But now, my child never listens to me and he loves to watch television while he eats or sleeps. I can assure that my son is slipping from my hands if he addicts to the visual media. As a result, I planned to deviate his mind from TV to other media like learning and playing a musical instrument. Now, he spends his considerable time along with his guitar and he now had time to listen to my music and my stories.

Finally, we should endorse our children to do outside and indoor activities to deviate from TV. If they are still addicted to them, we should seek counseling for our children without any due. We should encourage them to do households like cooking, laundry, gardening, and others so that they can seek enjoyment from that rather than electronic media.

In sum, visual media is destroying our young generation through its deep roots in children's minds. However, by selectively deviating their minds to other forms can extract our children from the depicted faults of television.