These days, people enjoy a lot of time away from their work and school obligations. Many people use this time to visit new places and learn about them. What do you think is the best way to learn about a place you are visiting for the first time?

Going to a museum

Joining a guided tour of popular attractions

Visiting a popular shopping area

Talking to a local resident

Watching a local television station

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Do not use memorized examples.

It is critically important to gain enough information about the place to which people travel for the first time. Personally, I believe that talking to local citizen will the most essential and effective way to understand the situation of the particular area. I feel this way for two main reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, people will be available to comprehend the truth about an unfamiliar place by getting in touch with native resident. Most countries and service facilities tend to conceal their disadvantage in order to be appreciated, which will lead me to draw the facile and incomplete conclusion about the whole region. On the other hand, an individual who experienced a lot of things about the area will probably tell the truth of advantages and disadvantages of the place. My personal history is a compelling example of this. Last year, I went to downtown of the countryside of my country for the first time. I have traveled around different places, and thought that the place was pleasant because things I have seen was nearly perfect. However, when I asked the indigenous denizen about the condition of a suburb, he stated that things are totally different and relentless. Therefore, I went to see the circumstances of the suburb because his statement seems incredible compared to matters that I have seen. Unfortunately, my understanding about the area was completely changed as soon as I see impoverished life condition of the slum. If I had not communicated with the person who lives there, I would not understand the complete situation comprehensively.

Secondly, native people’s perspective may help tourists to comprehend the country’s culture and unique value. When individuals travel to unfamiliar country, things may not sense to them by virtue of some difference between the country and their own nation. However, if they receive additional explanations or understanding from the people from the specific area, their comprehension will absolutely improve. For instance, three years ago, I traveled to Beijing, a hectic city of China. During my travel, I saw a boy eating insects, then I thought that he was eating this because he could not afford other types of food. Afterwards, I told a Chinese man about what I saw in their nation. Fortunately, he told me that insect is their common cuisine, which truly helped me to understand that the boy who was eating insect was not impoverished but usual. Hence, I could understand their culture correctly thanks to chitchat with a native citizen.

In summation, I am of the opinion of that when people go to see new places, talking to people living there will be beneficial for them. This is because individuals will understand the underlying truth, comprehend difference of culture, and valuable advice from well-informed others.