TPO 10. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Computer games have caused our children to waste their valuable time and have taken some of the blame of seeing our future generation less sociable compared to the people in the past. Accordingly, I agree that there should be restrictions on children to play computer games if we like to see successful generation in the future. Video games are detrimental both on physical and social development of children.

To start with, computer games discourage children to play outdoor, having serious effects on their social behaviour. Playing video games not only is waste of time but also implements the future generation from playing together, making friends and engaging in social activities. Even in developed countries such as Australia, it can easily notice the increase number of youth who spend a hefty amount of time, playing on their IPads or laptops. Given that notion, one might feel isolated when commuting by train since the majority of young people are looking at their mobiles playing video games. These generation will face significant issues when they grow up and like to make families, to talk with their colleagues and to make a close connection with their future children. As this example has clarified, video games impedes the social development of children which some restrictions should be imposed on them.

In addition, during time children become addictive to video games and less likely engage in exercises. This results in a raise of overweight children which causes unnecessary costs on individuals and governments on the account of related health issues. The health problems such as diabetes and heart attack are due to the fact that the modern lifestyle is sedentary compared to the lifestyle of the people in the past who did not waste their time on playing video games and instead they used their muscles for gardening, cooking or playing sports. Because of computer games fewer number of children are interested in sport activities such as swimming and cycling. Consequently, playing video games motivates children to be lazy.

On the other hand, some people may say that playing video games is very common nowadays because children like to have fun. This is not a justified reason as the future generation can have fun if they play sport together, talk with each other, read novel books or even go to the nature and enjoy their time.

In conclusion, I believe that computer games have serious and adverse impacts on the social and physical improvement of children. Parents should control their children using game consoles and encourage them spending their valuable time on reading books, playing sports or talking with their friends.