TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task

The most unique characteristic of humans is they are social animals. Humans are influenced by others in all of their lifetime. In my view, the influence from friends is essential for the following reasons so I disagree with the statement that teachers influence students more than their friends.

To begin with, students spend a lot of time with their friends. As the time when they are together is longer, the influence is more crucial. For example, when I was a freshman, I didn't make a decision which field of study I would major in. At the time, one of my friends was interested in civil engineering and he told me how interesting it was to study it. Thanks to him, I decided to study it. What to study in a university is an important decision, and my decision is much influenced by my friend.

Moreover, students and their friends are at the same age. I think preferences differ from age to age, so what students like is influenced by someone at the same age. Let me introduce an example of my favorite musician. His songs are popular among Japanese students and there are many students in his concert. As I heard, most of them have friends who are his fans too. From this example, it can be said that the influence of friends is essential for students.

Additionally, the fact that students and their friends are at the same age makes students accept arguments made by their friends. On the other hand, students are generally reluctant to listen to the lecture by their teachers. Stories told by friends can influence students more than those by teachers.

As I stated above, spending much time with friends at the same age has a strong influence for students. Therefore, I strongly stand by my opinion that the influence of students is more important for students than that of teachers.