TPO 20 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People show different attitudes towards whether it is worth taking risks of trying new ideas. While some people prefer doing what they are adept at, in my opinion, I give my vote to the argument that one should try to discover new things to become successful. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, focusing time and energy on new ideas greatly contributes to people´s career development as they can enjoy competition-free business with the emergence of a new market sector. As a result, they earn a higher rate of return on their investment. For example, the founder of Uber became a billionaire in a short period of time with the introduction of the revolutionary car-sharing platform. It changed radically how people travel and use their cars. Car owners are now able to earn money from their vehicles while travelers save a huge amount of money on transportation. Another example is the director of the SpaceX company. He is the first to commercialize the reusable rockets for space missions saving millions of dollars for the US government. Without taking risks, Uber director and Mr. Elon Musk of SpaceX could not achieve such huge successes.

Secondly, engaging in different experiences and taking risks helps people to unveil their hidden potentials which are pivotal in their success. An individual will never know how good at a discipline he is until he actually performs it. A local singer in my country is a compelling sample. He used to perform pop songs for many years but did not gain any remarkable achievement and few people knew about him. However, two years ago, he tried a new style of rock music which is new in my country. This new style perfectly matches his voice and played an important role in bringing his name to our young people.

In conclusion, those above-mentioned reasons and examples add weight to my view that taking risks is a requisite approach to one´s advancement and being well-known.