TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is an argument about the way which leads to success. On the one hand, people tend to believe that trying new things and taking risks are the keys to success. On the other hand, a part of population claim that only doing a well-known and familiar activity person may succeed. Although I might understand the second viewpoint, I am prone to buttress the first one. The reasons on which my prospect is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, people who agree to risk and try something novel have more expertise, experience and knowledge. Of course, we all understand that education is important but textbook knowledge is quite limited. A human being who is not willing to try new things will not go beyond comfortable boundaries of known. By contrast, a risky person who is prepared to take risks and try novel will expand his frontiers of knowledge. It is needless to say that than more a person possesses expertise and knowledge, than more he is valuable and therefore successful.

Secondly, a risky person has some psychological traits which make him to be inclined to success. In other words, a tendency to risk and try new is usually accompanied by other characteristics such as a positive outlook at the world, trust to yourself and your friends, a desire to learn more, willingness to take responsibility. Those personal traits often go side by side and an average person who takes risks and tries new demonstrates the whole bunch of them. Consequently, this bouquet of characteristics allows a person to become successful. By contrast, traits which are associated with inclination to perform the same activity do not attributed to a successful person. In other words, we may conclude that psychological characteristics which motivate a person to like novel thing, risk doing something new lead the person to being successful.

Admittedly, there are some reasons which may allow a person to state that sticking to familiar and well-known activities is a way to success. Chiefly, my adversary may aver that by repeating the same actions over and over again a person refines them and makes less and less mistakes. However, I still affirm that the first stance leads to a failure. Today's world keeps changing and developing and a person who avoids learning new technology, concepts, activities will inevitably become inefficient and as a result unsuccessful; thus there is only one obvious path to success via openly and willingly embracing new and accepting risks.

To wrap up, people who are prone to take risks and try new have more expertise, knowledge and therefore they are more valuable and thus successful. Additionally to it, personal traits which motivate people to risk make them more inclined to success as well.