TPO 21 Independent writing task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt in such a sophisticated world with rapid changing of the circumstances, many people have serious concerns about achieving success in their career path. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is while some people maintain that attaining work success depends on the vital role of high quality skills of communicating with others, others may hold the view that trying hard to study school lessons are more important. To my way of thinking, appropriate ability of relating with others is more important because not only does success in job entail an efficient network of people, but also people can acquire required knowledge and experience during their career path. In what follows, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

The first aspect to point out is that networking is an essential element for achieving job success. In fact, people have a chance for getting promoted when their responsibilities are fulfilled and they prove their talents and abilities in their occupations. Essentially, this necessitate a strong and broad network of people. As an illustration, in a work procedure, one should know whom to contact and make well-organized connections with right people in each steps. Moreover, building a trustful relationship with other have high importance for accomplishing career advancement. In other words, effective networking provides employees with potent bonds of trustful relationship with their colleagues. For example, a person can benefit from a strong network which he has made and easily finish a job in an excellent manner and on the other hand, if lacking the mentioned network, he may encounter serious problems and in this case, there is no guarantee for achieving same quality. All things considered, In the presence of this network, one can better show his talents and abilities and also by demonstrating better caliber, he may achieve job promotion more probably.

There is another factor that deserves some words here. In the majority of professions Acquiring work experience and practical knowledge are more effectual factor than educational school lessons. Although, making hard efforts for studying in school has its importance, there is a gap between needed field knowledge and those lessons in school. For instance, as a result of emerging rapid developments, instructions that one has received before may not be able to be used in work procedures nowadays. In addition, job prosperity will not be attained without gaining professional field experience which one can merely reaches during years of working. As a result, this factor reveals that studying in school whether with making sufficient efforts or vice versa is not as important as practical expertness. Furthermore, job experience can be considered as a prerequisite of relating well with others. To illustrate, one have higher potential to prove his expertise and make reliable and beneficial connections when he can take advantage of demanding knowledge.

In a word, by taking into account all these factors, we may come to the conclusion that compared to studying hard in school, making useful relations is a more vital factor for become successful in one’s career path due to many reasons, among which, importance of networking and priority of the essential role of having professional experience against the school lessons are the most significant ones. Who can deny the importance of having access to a large pool of professionals for achieving feats of job prosperity?