TPO 27

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt in such a sophisticated world, taking jobs can affect many aspects of human lifestyle. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is while some people maintain that it is better to take advantage of opportunities of getting a secure job, others may hold a view that waiting to take a desirable job is more beneficial. To my way of thinking, it is worthwhile to wait for a satisfying job position because in this situation not only do people have higher chance of prosperity in their career path, but also they enjoy more happiness in their lives. In what follows, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

The first aspect to point out is that, people being employed in a favored job are able to achieve work success more easily. In this case, they feel more motivated as they have chosen their job deliberately while considering their own interests carefully. On the other hand, taking a secure job does not guarantee high level of motivation and in this case, as a consequence, they presumably become exhausted and disappointed as some hardships arises. Moreover, with high level of motivation, one try his best to carry out his responsibilities and fulfill his duties. Accordingly, this bring about more favorable quality of performance which supports higher probability of getting promoted. Additionally, there is a higher chance for a person applying for an appropriate job to have expedient attributes. As an illustration, people often consider a job as a satisfying one when they estimations of their abilities show that they will fulfill the job’s requirements.

But there is a further more subtle point we must consider. No one can cast a shadow on the fact that a desired job can bring about a blissful life. Indeed, the happiness caused by having a suitable occupation make employees able to tolerate tough situations in work procedures. In other words, this will endow them with impetus needed for conquering emerging arduous challenges and achieving the pleasure of success. Apart from this, as previously mentioned, working in a satisfying position make it easier to attain job promotion and therefore it may lead to a higher salary. Although having adequate amount of money does not assure finding joy of life, it plays a vital role in achieving happiness. In particular, sufficient money is a significant prerequisite for obtaining comfortable life.

In a word, by taking into account all these factors, we may come to the conclusion that for a person, advantages of waiting for assuming a job in his field of interest outweigh reasons for taking a secure but not desirable job due to many reasons, among which, higher possibility of achieving job success and having happier life are the most significant ones. Who can deny the importance of job in life satisfaction?