TPO 24

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt in such a sophisticated world with rapid changing of the circumstances, many people have serious concerns about supporting their children to find their path of life. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is while some people maintain that it is better for parents to encourage their adolescent children to be employed in a part-time job, others may hold a different attitude toward it. To my way of thinking, experiencing a part-time job is one of the most appropriate ways that parents can help their teenage children to get prepared for adult life because not only can children gain some valuable experiences but also it can be a good opportunity for children to discover their interests and talents. In what follows, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

The first aspect to point out is that taking part-time job provides opportunities for children to experience real job conditions and achieve useful insights toward their future career path. In fact, in this situation encountering work difficulties and struggling with this hardships help them to prepare better for adult life. In other words, by working as a part-time employees, teenagers gain this experiences for less costs while they should manage lower level of risk. Additionally, this will endow them with the quality of higher accountability. For example, when an adolescent tries to carry out his responsibilities in a job position and as a result his performance, he get rewarded or penalized, he will understand how these reward and punishment procedure works and try to do his best in the future. Apart from this, in real job conditions youngsters learn how to face and solve emerging problems. Although in a part-time job position there is less working stresses surrounding them, eventually some problems will rises as they interact with others in work procedures or when they are trying to do their tasks, so they will learn how to cope with this problems in future.

There is another factor that deserves some words here. Parents’ helps and inspirations which they give their children to take part-time jobs help youngsters for better understanding of their talents and assessing their interests in a real working field. In particular, juveniles will have an opportunity to know their abilities better and evaluate their own performances in a professional working situation. Either they work in their fields of interest or not, this experiences will provide them with information that help them a lot to achieve more accurate understanding of their natural talents. Accordingly they can recognize their competitive edge over others and concentrate on fostering these attributes. Moreover this job experiences aid them to attain better knowledge of their interests. As a matter of illustration, in this case, people can take advantage of having a try and error approach to realize whether they love a specific job or not at less expenses.

In a word, by taking into account all these factors, we may come to the conclusion that one of the most appropriate ways that parents can guide their adolescent children to get prepared for adult life is persuading them to become a part-time employers because of many reasons, among which, gaining usable experiences and discovering their abilities and their interests are the most significant ones. Who can deny the importance of Job experience and the vital role of being passionate for achieving job success?