TPO 26

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days, finding appropriate job has become one of the most vital concerns of all societies and in fact, this factor can influence many aspects of human’s life. The question become more challenging when the impact of parents’ job on children’s future job and also their life is considered. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is while some people maintain that it is more beneficial for children to follow their parents and choose jobs similar to theirs, there are others holding the view that it is better to be employed in a different job position. I strongly believe that jobs that are similar to parents’ professions are more convenient because not only can youngsters learn easier from their parents, but also they can benefit from the network that parents have made during their career path.

One of the primary causes is that parents can teach their children the needed work instructions, methods and knowledge more efficiently. Indeed parents can provide their children with valuable work experience that they earned by years of working and experiencing a variety of difficulties for less cost. In other words, children can become professional workers and avoid gaining work experience which demands a lot of expenses as time and money. Moreover, people can benefit from being under tutelage of their sympathetic and compassionate parents as their work instructors. Parents, generally, have a perfect knowledge about their children, they also properly are aware of their interests and talents and as a result they can guide them in a more convenient and well-wishing fashion compared to anyone else.

But there is a further more subtle point we must consider. By choosing similar jobs children can easily take advantage of having access to the network of people which their parents have made before. In another words it is substantial to consider the significant role of knowing and having connection with right people in work procedures. For example in different situations when a person know whom to contact, he can better fulfill his responsibilities. Apart from this, another important factor for any person to achieve work success is to find reliable people and to gain required work credit that make him trustworthy to others. As an illustration, it is essential to have a trustful working relationship with others and people cannot work with each other only based on rules and regulation. To conclude, following parents’ path, one will have this chance to exploit his parents’ reputation and credibility for his own career advancement and make better use of existing opportunities.

In a word, by taking into account all these factors, we may come to the conclusion that assuming job similar to parents is more advantageous than tanking different one because of many reasons, among which, chance of learning from parents and availability of their working network are the most significant ones. Who can deny the importance of working experience and having access to required network in job prosperity?