TPO 22 – task 2: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Learning is one of the crucial parts of our life in today's society and most of the learning occurs in education centers like schools. And who has the most important role in the education system? the teachers. While some people believe that teachers should only teach the learning materials and don't show their personal political or social beliefs, others disagree. Personally, I think that restricting teachers in their duties isn't good and they should have the freedom to express their opinions. In the following paragraphs, my two imperative reasons will be discussed.

To begin with, teachers' job isn't only to teach books' materials, in fact, their most important duty is to prepare the students for real-life. In ordinary life, you can't escape from society or politics, it's everywhere and impacts everything. So if teachers want to make students ready for real-life they have to discuss politics and society. As an illustration, when I was a student in high school we had a sociology teacher who always loved to talk about community and politics. Every section he started his talk with the latest political issues in the society, and explain them profoundly to the students. In fact, in this manner, he wanted to teach us that politics are not separate from our life but it's one of the most important parts of it. I remember that his opinions about election influenced me a lot and even I selected my favorite presidential candidate according to his ideas. As clearly you can see talking about politics and society is crucial for preparing students for real life.

Additionally, some of the lessons are a part of politics and sociology and the teacher can't teach them without debating and representing his/her opinion about it. Many of law major in university or sociology deal with politics and society directly and professor have to show his/her views. For example, at the university, I had a sociology course in the second semester. The course was about the history of Iran society in the last four decades, and it was full of uncertainty. Our professor had a good trick to teach this course, whenever the students were silent and didn't argue with each other, he represented his opinion about the topic and this strikes the students to talk with each other and learn the lesson better. In fact, he had to do this, if he didn't say his views the lecture would be boring and the students couldn't learn the topic very well. Therefore, in some lectures teacher have to represent his/her own idea to teach better.

To sum up, although many people condemn the political debates in the class and believe that teachers have to just teach and don't show their personal views, I believe otherwise. Not only talking about personal ideas in teaching makes the students ready for real life, but also in some lessons it increases the quality of teaching. So showing personal opinions by teachers isn't bad and shouldn't be prevented.