TPO 28-

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children's education than parents were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays life has been changed in compare with the past. These changes are not limited to useful inventions that make life easier. The human lifestyle has been changed as well. Some people holds the view that parent’s engagement to their children education process has been increased during these changes. However, others believe that parents are less involve about their children academic life than pass. I completely agree with latter group opinion that children autonomy on their educational life has been enhanced which lead their parents to be less effective in their education process.

Technology has facilitated educational process for children. In fact, children look for their questions and problems' answer on the Internet which decreases their need to their parents. In the past, if a child had a question in her assignment, she would have asked her parents about it. Parent was one of the most reliable sources of science for their children. However, nowadays children have access to online classes, online tutoring, Ebooks and many strong searching engines. These facilities have reduced parents’ involvement in their children education. For example, I asked my father to check all of my physic and math problems when I was a teenager. In addition, if I had a difficulty in learning some topic, my father has the role of my tutor. However, my cousin, who is 10 years old, does not ask any question from my aunt. If she has some question, she will look for the answer on the Internet.

Parents have become aware of disadvantages of their involvement in their children education. Indeed, the parents reduce their children independence by involving in their education which has an undeniable effect on their future success. In May 2014, unprecedented research on the relation of success and independency was supervised by Professor Maryam Assadi on University of Tehran. Her research team surveyed over 10000 successful people about the essential factors of their success. According to the survey data, almost 93 present of them asserted that their independence has led them to success. Moreover, 80 percent of them respondents mainly responded that they have done their assignments on their own and they never asked for parents help in their education. The survey author generalized their finding and said that " our survey indicates that autonomy is academic life from first stages of life is a significant reason for success in further stages of life.

To put it into a nutshell, I strongly believe that children have become more autonomous in their education. In other words, parents are less engage in their children academic life. The technology has reduced the children’s' need to parents. In addition, the disadvantages of parents’ involvement have been revealed which has helped parents to become inform about their consequences of this behavior. In my opinion, parents should learn the difference between consulting and managing their children’s life. They should let their children decide about their education on their own. If they want to help their children in their important decisions, they can represent their concern in the form of advice.