TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is indubitably axiomatic that education is of vital importance in the development of any country, and university professors play a crucial role in the prosperity of every society. If university professors are in a good mood, they do all their best to provide some benefits to the education system and also to the society. While there are some people holding the idea that the virtue of increasing their wage is not clear, I, personally speaking, believe that to increase the quality of education, it is essential that their salaries get expanded. The vital aspects of this increase are demonstrated a great number of issues, among which higher motivation and better research results are of great consequences, which are discussed hereunder.

The first reason which should be stated here is that by rising university professors’ salary, their incentive gets increased dramatically. As everyone knows, money plays a very important role in our modern world and is determinative to derive a benefit and provide a convenient life. University professors, like other people, occupy the job primarily to gain materialistic advantages, and a rise in their income increase their incentive to keep going to improve both their own and also their students’ knowledge. In addition, they will concentrate on their main career, which is teaching, and are no longer concern about their personal expenses. For example, one of my professors, who is recruited recently, take a part-time job in a petrochemical company and spend some of his time to consult this company to earn extra pay. As a result, he does not have enough time to provide useful assignments for the students and give us repeated assignments for which there are solutions. In this situation, it is crystal clear that we cannot fully grasp our study. As can be seen from the abovementioned facts, not rising the salary of university professors directly affect the quality of education.

The other point which deserves some words here is that most of the university professors have a concern about their research centers. Actually, they dedicate most of their time in their research laboratory and put all their efforts to walk through the knowledge boundary. Generally speaking, they do not have sufficient money to purchase suitable equipment and come up with obsolete stuff. Therefore, the students are not able to get familiar with recent technological advances in universities. While giving money to the professors, they spend some of this money for their research centers. For instance, we did not have a special equipment in our laboratory to analyze different components of air pollution, and consequently, we had a lack of knowledge about this area of science. Last year, when our university increased my supervisor's income, he purchased an accurate analyzer. Consequently, we published several papers in the best scientific journals. Had university not increased our professors'salary, we would not have understood the concept of air pollution.

To sum up, regarding all of the aforementioned reasons, I am in consummate accord with the notation that university professors' salary should be increased. Not only is it a notable motivation for them to teach better, but it also provides merits for them to make better research facilities. To have a better education system, it is proposed to keep university professors satisfied.