Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays people are more giving prominence to the opinions of celebrities. However, it is vague whether the opinions of famous individuals are important to just young people or it is even important to older ones. As far as I am concerned, I think that young people take the opinions of celebrities more seriously. In what follows, I will explain my point of view.

The first point that should be stated here is that young people are more receptive to what celebrities convey than older people are. People in their young ages do not still find their personal characteristics. Indeed, each incident like reading a book, watching a movie, or reviewing the comments of a famous person on a news may be a turning point in their lives. On the other hand, older people would experience smooth or even no changes through their lives and just consider each moment of their lives a gift to enjoy more. For example, I remember when I was studying for the university entrance exam for graduate studies, I was watching a motivation speech of Denzel Washington. It was inspiring for me and convinced me to work harder. However, right now after twenty years, those speeches seem just interesting to me and do not change my personal characteristics.

The other point that should be mentioned here is that young people are more interested in using technology. In detail, with the onset of technology, the lifestyle of people, especially young ones, has been changed dramatically. As a matter of fact, social media make a condition for people to share their ideas. In this regard, young people spend most of their time surfing on the internet or following celebrities through their Instagram accounts. Being fascinated with their lifestyle, young people are more likely to imitate whatever they do or consider them a role model for their lives. Nevertheless, older people are less familiar with using technology and, consequently, are less in the exposure of the opinions of celebrities. For example, while I am not even familiar with creating an Instagram account, my son spends almost one-fourth of his time surfing on this social media. Recently, one famous celebrity posted a video clip through her Instagram account announcing that The Environment is extensively suffering from pollution. Thus, my son realized the importance of saving the planet and has taken the responsibility to separate our household trashes for further recycling ever since. Had my son not followed this famous person on Instagram, he would not care about the Environment now.

To sum up, the opinions of celebrities are more important to youngsters than old people. Not only are young people looking for useful resources to shape their personality, but they also are more under the exposure of celebrities’ ideas.