TPO 31- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's convoluted world, there has never been such a desperate need for people to be happy. To satisfy such a need, people should connect with their family and friends constantly. A question, which is a matter of debate, is whether people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Although it is a little hard to reach a consensus on this thesis, I am, to a great extent, on the belief that people are less happy nowadays. The following paragraphs elaborate on the thesis.

To commence, one of the compelling reasons that justifies the thesis is that in this hectic world, people have involved themselves in a different variety of works. To put it in general words, doing a lot of repetitive works every day, people do not have enough time for themselves to do their favourite activities. Simply stated, since people prefered modern and technological lifestyle, they could not spend enough time for their leisure activities and entertainment such as going on a trip or vacation, going to the cinema, and participating art classes. To shed more light on the issue, according to a study posted in Time Magazine, people in the 21th century are less satisfied with their lives than people were in the 20th century.

Alongside with the reason elaborated above, the fact that human per se is a sociable and gregarious creature is another point which requires meticulous attention. To clarify, today's mechanized lifestyle has caused a negative effect on people's interrelationship. Needless to say, the more people get involve in daily problems, the less they can keep in touch with each other. Consequently, people lose their friends and feel loneliness, thus they get depressed that result in dissatisfying with their lives.

Drawing upon the reasons, although there are always some exceptions which are excluded from the general rule, I do agree that people nowadays are less satisfied with their lives than people in the past. To recapitulate the reasons, not only people do not have enough time for their entertainment and vacations, but also they do not see each other and relate with each other.