TPO 50- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There has always been a heated controversy between pedagogical experts whether special courses should be essential for all university students or optional. A question, which is a matter of debate, is whether all university students should be required to take history courses. Although it is a little hard to reach a consensus on this issue, I am, to a great extent, on the belief that it is not necessary for all of the students to take the history courses. The following paragraphs elaborate on the thesis.

To commence, one of the compelling reasons that justifies the thesis is that some fields of study are not required to history courses. To put it in general words, studying fundamental sciences such as math, physics, and chemistry, some students do not need to pass historical courses because it wastes their wealthy time that can be used in a laboratory. To shed more light on the issue, according to the result of a study posted in Time Magazine, most of the students who were required to take the history courses were not satisfied because they thought that was a waste of time.

Alongside with the first reason elaborated above, the fact that spending a lot of time for preparing history papers and doing assignments is another point which requires meticulous attention. To clarify, students have to spend a lot of time and energy on history assigments and papers. Therefore, they have less time to think about their special courses. Accordingly, it can cause a negative effect on their other scores. However, what I mentioned above might not be overgeneralized to all contexts. There are some students who pass theie special courses simultaneously with the history courses with high grades.

In general, I agree that history courses should be optional for university students because not only it wastes their time but also it affects their other scores negatively.