TPO 31: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Nowadays due to momentous advancement in technological and scientific spheres, our world is changing at an unprecedented pace. In this regard, some people adhere to the idea that these quick changes have made people less satisfied with their lives. I concede this statement due to some apparent negative consequence of the quick changes. In the following paragraphs, I will cogently elaborate on my viewpoint.

The most prominent issue to be considered is that technological advancements are like a coin with two sides and have their own pros and cons. New technologies like smartphones, smart watches, laptops, and etc are really appealing for people especially youngsters and there is a temptation in young people to always have the latest technologies in their hands. Hence they try to have every brand new technology which is really expensive at their arrival time. For example 1 year ago Apple company introduce iPhone 8 which costed about $499. Lots of my friends force their family to buy that phone for them. This year the company has introduces iPhone 11pro with a price of about $1000 and now they do not like their phones anymore and want the new one. This process is repeating every year and it seems that people are trapped in a loop. They are greedy, restless, and are not satisfied with what they have.

Another important point coming to my mind is the issue of job security. Most of the people tend to have a permanent job which guarantees their future. However ongoing rapid changes in technological areas have restricted people's options and therefore impose a huge burden of stress on them. New advancements in the area of artificial intelligence are leading us into a mechanical life in which robots and computers perform lots of tasks that formerly was done by a human. As a result, every few years some of the jobs are totally obsolete. For instance, before there was a taxi agency in every neighborhood. But now people can install an application on their smartphone and see how many taxies are available near their location and send a request for a taxi wherever they are. Nobody calls taxi agencies anymore and the agencies' managers are losing their job. Therefore with new changes, people have a concern about losing their job.

The final considerable point is that recent changes have dramatically altered the way of communication. It is undeniable that new technologies have apparent advantages. For example, nowadays the world is like a global village in which you can connect with other people and communicate with each other whenever you decide. But we should not ignore its detrimental impacts on human relations. These days people do not put effort into talking to each other. Their relationships are confined to sending short messages or showing up some slice of their lives on social media. It seems that new technologies are propelling humans into a life lack of emotions and sympathy which is actually horrible for most of us.

For short, it is obviously a reasonable conclusion that quick changing of the world, mainly due to technology, has brought for human less satisfaction and happiness as people are losing their emotional connection with each other and the real world, are experiencing more stress about the future of their job, and also can not satisfy their infinite greed for possessing the new things. Therefore, it is crucial to devise a plan for the elimination of these negative aspects of ongoing changes.