TPO 32 Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Young people play an important role in society, and there are many differences between countries in terms of the importance they give to the future generation. In my opinion, I disagree with that statement, as it depends on the country we are talking about. The reasons why I feel this was will be explained in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, in well-developed countries, young people are the key to success. In other words, they know that young people will be the future presidents, doctors, teachers, among other things and they give them a place f in the biggest decisions to be made. The case of Finland and Sweden are great examples of this. A couple of years ago, my aunt moved to Finland to work. There she got married and started a family, when her son started to grow up, she was worried about his higher education, as the cost of living in those countries is not cheap. Her husband told her that she had nothing to worry about, since the government itself covers those expenses for young people. She couldn't believe it, his husband is another example of this, he attended one of the best universities in Finland without spending a lot of money, now he is a famous engineer. A country couldn't make this kind of decision easily, but Finland saw the potential in the youth to make that choice and take the risk for the future and benefit of their own country. If my aunt had not had that experience we would not have known about this great opportunity on the other side of the world.

Moreover, other countries prefer to give importance to unimportant things rather than the wellness of a society. Leaders are difficult to understand but today, in many third-world countries no one can trust a leader, since it is difficult to do so. My own experience living in one of such countries demonstrates this reality. When I was in high school, a lot of prices raised, including the monthly cost of my private, low average school. We were desperate as the only two options we had was, pay or drop out school. Thankfully my parents could cover those expenses, but I started to compare why in countries like the USA people don't have to pay for high school, and they even have a good quality education and infrastructures, while in Peru, there are more private schools rather than national ones. It was there that I understood the importance young people have in the decisions made by the government, something that I wish was the same in most third-world countries. The USA decided to have many good quality national high schools in order that parents can save money for years for their higher education, because young people are the future of their country. This illustrates the different goals and thoughts that a society has.

In conclusion, I disagree with that statement since there are differences between countries. My main reasons are that first world countries know that the future of their countries relies on the youth, so they give them a lot of priority when a decision is made. However, it's not the same when we refer to a third world country, where young people have nothing to do with important decisions, they have a lack of knowledge in that part so they decide to choose unimportant things and that's why they don't progress, since they don't see the big potential the youth has and don't give them opportunities.