TPO-32 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays a vast part of population tend to believe that today we are less happy and satisfied with our lives because the world around us keeps changing with unthinkable pace. Although I could understand the idea which is behind this viewpoint, I cannot agree with it because of the reasons which will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, the world has become more equal, fair, unbiased toward minorities. Since 1960s the world has kept changing in a positive way to African American, Hispanic and other nationalities as well as toward LGBT society. Although the changes are quick they have mostly positive tone, for example, women, African American got their votes on elections of all levels, members of LGBT society have stopped to be labeled as mentally ill persons and in recent years get right to be married and adopt children. All of those changes made our society a better place for living where each person, at least theoretically, may be who he or she wants to be without a fear of being prosecuted or charged for being different.

Secondly, a quick advancement of technology has greatly and positively impacted on the society as well. We live in a quickly changing world this stance has become a cliche at the same time, we tend to underestimate the grandiosity of the changes and their impact on us. Technology has alleviated the toil of all levels of employees from a factory worker to an engineer. Today we use tools which allow us do the job more efficiently and quickly then used to be and therefore our productivity has skyrocketed; as a result our income has increased as well. Technology has changed our everyday life as well. Modern items such as smartphones, laptops, e-tablets and even smart- fridges make our existence easier and happier. In fact, an average person who properly uses modern technology may have a better life than a kind in the Middle ages.

Admittedly, there are some reasons which may be mentioned by a person who believes that today we are less satisfied and happier than our predecessors. Chiefly, the one may aver that our contemporary has a greater access to information which allows him to compare his life with life of others. A person who lived fifty years ago, may exist happily because he knew that his neighbors have similar income and similar life; by contrast today the one may look at an Instagram account of billionaires who like to show up their wealth. However, I still buttress that today a person has a better life which is full of satisfaction because the envy to your neighbor is a subjective perception of the reality which does not reflect an actual reality. If a person looks at the world via unbiased prospect, all his complaints will disappear unquestionably.

To wrap up, although some people may assume that we have less satisfied lives, a more close look at the evidence discussed above they will definitely change their mind.