TPO 32

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Nowadays, the world is different from than it was in the past. There are numerous technological advancements that did not exist in the past. Some people hold an underlying idea that the people don't enjoy their lives than the people in the past did; however, others may take and opposite view and believe that people now are more satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Personally, I contend that the life is more enjoyable than it was before. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint by bringing up some cogent reasons.

The first exquisite reason that comes to the mind at the first glance is the fact that technology advancement has facilitated our lives. Nowadays, we use washing machines and dishwashers to wash our clothes and dishes respectively. Consequently, we have more free time than the people in the past had. People use this free time to enjoy their lives. For example, 60 years ago, my grandfather had to work on a farm to help his parents to feed their children. People needed to cook food, walk to far distances and wash their dishes and clothes on their own. Nowadays, people have plenty of time to be with their family, make friends and do the activities that they like. As another example, one of my friends like skydiving, so he attended two different skydiving programs and he made a multiplicity new friends. Now, he believes that he is happier than he was a year ago.

Another equally noteworthy point substantiating my stance is that we now have a multiplicity of ways to entertain ourselves which didn't exist 50 years ago. Now, when we are bored, we can watch TV, surf the Internet, or call our friends and talk to them. However, the only way that my grandfather could entertain himself was to play with other kids. He once told me that they even didn't have a ball or another toy to play with. Moreover, a research conducted by psychologists at Harvard University in 2014 revealed that people that have access to the internet and other ways of communication live happier lives than the ones who don't have access to the modern ways of communication.

To encapsulate, based on the aforementioned reasons, one can soon infer that the life in the contemporary period is more enjoyable than the life in the past was. However, this essay was a story in a nutshell, and there are numerous momentous reasons that weren't mentioned above. In the end, it is highly recommended that a research be conducted to identify other points that make our lives easier and more satisfactory.