TPO 39 - Independent taskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the past few decades ago, the tendency of finding a specific type of job or career to ensure success and a secure future was dominating, where parents were imposing all sorts of ideas such as finding a secure job is the only way to for a promising future to their children. However, as time passes, the world is changing so much faster than it would before. Ensuring one’s future just by carefully planning out a fixed career plan isn’t feasible anymore; it just doesn’t suit well in this fast-pacing world.

Comparing to ten years ago, the jobs that are considered safe choices are becoming less appealing to the young generations today. Although some may argue that it’s just that the “safe choices” nowadays have shifted from the old-school types- doctors, lawyers, and teachers to other types, the truth is that the successful examples in 21-century shares common traits that being flexible and good at predicting the future are essential. Therefore, trying to find a short-cut to success by not willing to take risks and changes is highly unlikely to lead to success in this era.

Take teacher, a job that is considered as one of the go-to choices before, as an example. Due to the change in regulations in Taiwan and the decline in birth rate, not only does the wage and pension of teachers shrink, but there are currently numerous excessive teachers that can’t even find students to teach. Plus, the exponentially-growing internet that makes information exchange reach a level more advanced than ever before has actually gradually taken the role of teachers.

Lastly, it’s worth discussing some newly-risen jobs that didn’t even exist before the internet was invented- the content creators on the web, or as we like to call them the influencer. As the internet has now become ubiquitous, people don’t have to rely on traditional methods such as TV to express themselves, but instead, with the net, everyone can become a content creator, which really threatened the traditional media’s role in society.

In conclusion, the world right now is constantly changing, therefore, the method of securing one’s future by finding a safe job isn’t going to work as flawlessly as it would before because it cannot catch up with the world.