TPO 40 Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this modern age, teaching styles varies from one parent to another. Some individuals believe that reward system will help to increase the grades of their children, while others disagree. In my humble opinion, I agree that offering reward for children help them to be motivated and excel on their studies. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, nowadays there are many ways to keep children stay motivated in their studies. One of this is giving rewards and point system for their good performance at school. This method is widely used by parents all over the world because of its effectiveness. My personal experience is a compelling example of this, my niece Sam is always a straight a student, her mother helps her to be motivated at school by giving reward system. It is a way for my niece to focus her mind on studying her subjects well because she knows her efforts will be recognized and rewarded. Her rewards are just simple things such as allowing her to use her cellphone every Sunday when she does her assignment all by herself and receiving good grades will allow her to watch movie with friends. This illustrates that rewards system keeps students be motivated and they can maintain to keep their score high.

Secondly, when rewards system are implemented by their parents to their child. Studies shows that students excel better compared to students who are not rewarded by their parents. For instance, my mother always rewarded me for good behavior and having high grades at school. In my sophomore years, I have difficulty understanding my lessons and wanted to give up studying for my algebra subject, but my mother talked to me and told me that I should study harder because if I get high grades after my exam she will treat me to my favorite restaurant at my hometown. After hearing this from my mother, I immediately got my attention to the subject and wanted to push my capabilities more to analyze and understand my algebra subject better. Moreover, my hard work pays off, I received B+ on my exam and my mother was very pleased with my grades. I always wanted to excel more to my studies because I know my parents will be proud and I love receiving gifts and rewards for my hard work.

To summarize, I believe that it is beneficial that parents gives reward to their child for performing well at school. This is because they will be motivated to study even better and excel more at their studies.