TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A teacher used to be regarded as the second guardian to a child besides his parents and truly so. But, I believe that teachers are no more valued and appreciated these days as they used to be in the past. And, I feel this way for reasons stated ahead.

First, there is a lot of competition now in the teaching role. There are a lot of quality courses available online free of cost. Children can listen to the lectures online without going out of their houses. It seems that the competition among teachers is so high that they have to constantly upgrade their knowledge in line with what is happening in the contemporary world around them. Teaching is no more a static job as the concepts change with every new day. And, it can be really embarrassing for a teacher if he/she fails to answer to students' queries and if the explanation to those queries is within students' reach through online videos.

Second, the education level on a whole has increased multiple fold from past. These days, the parents are well educated and believe in teaching there children themselves. This has brought down the dependency that used to be there on the teachers in past.

Finally, in past, there used to be good teachers who used to be conceptually very sound. But, these days, the number of teachers has increased so much that the quality of teaching has deteriorated exponentially as it is very easy to get a job as a teacher these days. Earlier, the word teacher was associated with those who taught in schools and colleges. These days, there are a lot of institutions opened for education. There are coaching centers, home tutors, sports teachers, counselors and what not. There are a number of teachers these days.