TPO 43

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

•Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

•Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade.

•Say nothing.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Both doing mistake and saying wrong things is common for human beings because we are not perfect. However, in some places such as universities and meetings it is not expected. Although, some people assert that revising the mistakes on class is not polite but I do not think so. I feel this way for 3 main reasons which I will explore them in the following essay.

To start with, some errors are unintentionally, and may damage our concentration to subsequent materials. For example, when I was a high school student, my chemistry teacher was teaching a certain kinds of elements and their properties. But her pronunciation was wrong and similar to another element of periodic table. All of my classmates got confused about that lecture. Few minutes later, I forced to speak about that mistake with my teacher. my teacher and all of my friends, appreciated me a lot!

In addition, some errors effect on people whom have not enough knowledge about a certain subject and causes to wrong understanding about it. For instance, 2 days ago when my brother was listening to the news in radio, the narrator did mistake about the number of murder person in a local car accident that I were witness in that event. I realized that fault and speak about that with him but my brother did not accept the truth. May be he did not expect that a media do such mistake. I called to radio station and spoke with the manager and they finally after several minutes revise the news.

Last, there is some situations that we feel our understanding is correct but it is not. I exemplify my point with a true story about some thing that happened to me. 4 years ago when I was a senior student in university, my professor spoke about some kinds of chemical reactions in liquid which was very odd to me. According to my previous studies, not only those materials was incorrect, but they also challenged all of my understanding due to that subject. Eventually, I interrupted the class by asking about that matter and found that I should attention from another perspective. It was my fault! If I did not ask about that reaction in class that time, I could not concentrate on subsequent materials and pass the exam successfully.

In all, what drives someone correct speaker's talk may fall into 3 main categories including doing unwanted errors by teachers, having wrong effects on other audiences, and misunderstanding. However, there are some situations that it is better to say nothings or wait until the end of class for correcting a mistake