TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task

Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this progressive and sophisticated world, parents usually are busy with various backbreaking tasks at work and house, therefore, they have not enough time to spend with their children. In such circumstances, children have a wide variety of options to utilize their time efficiently, such as playing games and sports or doing schoolwork. A controversial question, which is often raised in this regard, is which one of the mentioned options is the best choice for the best use of their time. Different people hold different perspectives according to their previous experiences. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that the advantages of playing sports for children are immense and indisputable. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first noteworthy reason coming to my mind is that participation in sports and games improves children's health and well-being. Nowadays, there has been a significant increase in chronic diseases like diabetes, obesity, and cardiovascular diseases among young children. Scientists have proven that the primary reason for this increase is the lack of physical activity due to the sedentary lifestyle. Thus, playing their favorite sport will make them active and prevent the risk of being sick with chronic diseases. For instance, a national program in Finland has asked families to enroll their children in free sports games and other physical programs, the result of this plan has shown the rate of obesity and other illnesses has decreased significantly among children.

Another exquisite point to be mentioned is that physical activities can improve children's intellectual ability. There is a significant correlation between doing physical activities and improving mind performances, Researchers found doing physical activities boost the blood flow to the brain and as a result, the power of the mind increases significantly. Consequently, this outcome will have a positive influence on children’s academic performances, helps children to grasp their class material rapidly and for a longer period of time. For example, during my elementary school, the top students of the class were among students who spent their leisure time in the gym.

On the other hand, some may believe doing schoolwork with peers is best for children since they can practice their lessons together. However, I postulate allocating free time to school assignments will make children bored and exhausted. They need something other than schoolwork to cheer them up as well as has hidden advantages that influence their academic performances.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, I firmly believe playing sports is the best choice for students to use their time. This option not only prevents many serious diseases but also improves their mind and consequently their academic performances.