TPO 44: Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As you know, it is very crucial to allocate time to spend with immediate family members as it fortifies the base of their relationship. But unfortunately, nowadays both parents have to work in order to provide children with convenient living. They are usually a full-time employee and busy with their occupation, hence, do not have enough time to spend with their children. Regarding this issue, some people hold the view that for these parents the best use of time is to have fun playing games or sports, however, other people believe it is more beneficial to spend that time helping the children with their school assignment. Personally, I concur with the first viewpoint. Among various reasons which support my point of view, I will delve into three main reasons in the following paragraph.

First of all, the most prominent point to be mentioned is that playing with children and spending funny moments with each other enhance the intimacy between parents and children and bridge the gap between them. Intimacy forms trust in the relationship between children and parents hence, children consider their parents as their friend and share their problems with their parents and try to get over the difficulties with their help and companionship. By contrast, children who do not experience such moments with their parents won't develop a strong connection with them. They prefer to solve their problems on their own and sometimes run into more serious problems. Hence, it is of great importance that parents play with their children even if they have limited time.

Furthermore, according to psychological studies playing games with children has a direct impact on their creativity. Playing a game is an active learning process in which children learn how to interact with their surrounding environment and spark creative ideas for how to play a game. As a personal experience, when I was 10 years old, my father used to play brain teasers with me whenever he has free time. During the game, he shared his own experience about how to use different techniques to win the game. Sometimes I would compare different solution and would come up with a creative solution which was astonishing to my father. Therefore, I believe it is necessary that parents play with their children in their spare time in order to enhance the children's creativity and logical skills.

The final point to be mentioned regarding this issue is that children are more passionate about having funny moments with their parents. It would be tedious for them to do their school assignments with their parents. Most children prefer to do this with their classmates. Also, a private tutor can make up for parents' role and help children with their school work. By contrast, there is no alternative for parents' role in enhancing children self-confidence and mental health by allocating time to spend with them and having a good time.

In conclusion, I strongly believe parents should play with their children as it will fortify their relationship, enhance children's creativity and also there is no alternative for this role of parents.