TPO 52 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that everyone should follow the rules which are implemented by governments and societies. These rules are essential for having a satisfying community. Some people are of the opinion that the rules which are implemented for young people are too strict, whereas others believe that it is essential that they follow the rules precisely. Nevertheless, I concur with the former group's opinion. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elaborate on the reasons substantiating my point of view.

To begin with, I assert that young people can become better gradually. Getting old enough, young people can differentiate inappropriate behaviors from good ones. They improve their personalities when they start getting older. Therefore, society should take easy on them. Young people need to make mistakes in order to understand the right path. They should have the chance to experience all those things by themselves. Consequently, such strict rules can cause them not to experience everything by themselves.

Another equally important reason which I think deserves some words is that such strict rules can lower their self-esteem. They need to have their own freedom. We could not expect them to do every single task correctly. Accordingly, I believe that in order to elevate their self-confidence, we should not take hard on them. My personal experience is a compelling example of this concept. When I was 18 years old, I just had started to drive, but I could not drive perfectly, so I tried hard to make it better. Once, I was driving to the university, and all my friends were there in the car. Suddenly, a police officer stopped me. He contempt me in front of my friends because of our laughings in the car. His tone was very offensive. Accordingly, I lost my self-confidence, and it took a long time for me to forget what had happened.

Finally, I concur that it is the parent's job to tell their children about their behaviors. The society should let parents raise their children however they want. All these strict rules should be for the people who are in their middle age and have already taught these behaviors from their parents.

Considering all the reasons mentioned above, one could conclude that all the rules that governments implement for young people, and the societies expect them to follow are extremely strict. They can take easier on them since young people may lose their self-confidence easily, and also they have the right to experience everything by themselves and decide what to do and how to behave.