Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Since the emergence of human beings, interpersonal connection between people has been playing a pivotal role in everyone's life. While some argue that having a handful number of friends for a long span of time would lead to a better sense of happiness, others believe that those who can make new friends without much effort are happier. Personally, I am of the opinion that keeping long-lasting connections with fewer people will contribute more to people's happiness. The reasons substantiating my standpoint are elaborated hereunder.

First of all, people with the ability to make enduring connections with their old friends will experience a much more stress-free life, which would also help them to be happier and more satisfied. To be more specific, when individuals spend a lot of time together, the foundation of trust between them would be strong enough that they would not feel anxious while encountering an urgent or unexpected situation. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I have remained friend with four people since elementary school with whom I actually grew up. They have earned my trust during these years, and whenever I was in trouble, they were the first people who showed up for help. Last year, I was laid off by the company for which I was working, and as a result, I was facing economic hardship and feeling totally worried sick. Nevertheless, one of my old friends lent me large-sum money to pay for my apartment rental for a few months before landing another job. Therefore, his generous assistance gave me peace of mind and enabled me to focus only on hunting a decent job. Had I not the ability to developed a strong friendship with my friend, I could not have been able to stay on my own feet when I was almost broke.

Secondly, the more people spend time together, the more they will know each others' personalities and hobbies, which can lead to having more vibrant pastime time besides each other. To put this into a more vivid picture, in long-lasting friendships, people generally get along with each other better since they have more common leisure activities. For instance, all of my old friends are interested in doing sports as I am. It is safe to say that we never argue about filling our spare time together because, for example, every weekend we go to the city park whether to play volleyball or football, and all of us enjoy our time spent together. However, in newly-established friendships, people do not know their friend's favorite activities, resulting in several contentions while choosing one. As a result, they might not be pleased with hanging out together.

To sum up, taking the reasons and points mentioned above, one could conclude that remaining friend with a few people for a longer time would be more beneficial for individuals' delight. It is because they can always rely on their older friends, which reduces their tensions and because they have much more in common to enjoy while spending time together.